Noah vs. God’s Not Dead

I felt obligated to write a blog that puts these two films against one another to see which one is most likely to have a larger impact on people who don’t have a relationship with God. Both films are completely different – One is made by Christian filmmakers and another has an Atheist as its director, but both deal with the subjects of God, discovering God’s plan amidst a time of struggle, and fulfilling it no matter how difficult it may seem.

I’ll start first with God’s Not Dead. This film was written, directed, and acted out by Christians. The main story focuses on a college student – Josh Wheaton. His faith in God is challenged by his philosophy professor, who believes God does not exist. The film also stars some Duck Dynasty starts to add to the appeal for Christian audiences to come out and see it even more.  Now, being a Christian filmmaker myself, I support the message they are putting forth – to prove that God is indeed alive and living. But this film definitely not without its problems amidst it’s truthful, positive message.

First off – I feel as if some of the story line is completely absurd and unrealistic. So, this professor is telling his students to write “God is dead” on a piece of paper on the first day of class, and if they don’t he will fail them for the class? WHAT!? Is this Atheism University? I’m sorry, but I just cannot see how any University will hire a professor to force their own beliefs on students, and if they don’t believe what he believes he will fail them? I understand persecution of Christian students from professors does exists, but not in any way would a professor FAIL you for the class. Will you be his favorite? Nope. But It seems like I could take that argument to someone of higher authority, like the president of the university, and he would completely agree that just because I don’t believe what the professor believes that makes it a good reason for failing me.

Second – Bad acting and writing will completely draw someone out of the film’s message. I know Christian films don’t have large budgets, and non-Christian actors who give great performances will not sign on to do most of them, but, for me and many others, if the dialogue in a film is flat-out cheesy (which happens to be the case for many Christian films), and the performances are not convincing, then you will have people, even Christians, laughing at the film and their focus on the message will be lost.

Third – This is the problem with “preachy” films and films made by most Christian filmmakers – they are for the Christian audience. Everyone else will hate them. I posted on Facebook that Christian filmmakers that make films for Christian audiences is absolutely pointless from an evangelistic standpoint. Christian filmmakers’ focus needs to be reaching the lost, not the ones who are already saved. I’ve seen so many people post on Facebook and send messages to all their church friends with a message like this – “Let’s go support this film! #GodsNotDead”. Okay… you go ahead and gather all of your saved friends and family to go support the film. Then once the film is at its end, you call all stand up to sing and dance to the Newsboys’ “God’s Not Dead”. If this film leads some non-believers to Christ than it will surely be a miracle! But let’s be for-real about this film though… it’s made for Christian audiences to enjoy. That’s it. The only thing I see this film doing is inspiring Christians to go out and defend Christ and leading others to Him, but I doubt this film will not even do that for 99% of Christians.

Now it’s time to talk about Noah. This film was directed by an Jewish atheist, it was produced by a major film company, and it features Academy award winning actors. The film is based on the true Biblical story of Noah’s Ark in the early chapters of Genesis. Now, this my shock many, but I support this film. Yes, I’ve seen it. And yes, I am aware of it’s Biblical inaccuracies, but from a filmmaking and a Biblical standpoint, I enjoyed this film a lot.  Now it does have it’s problems, but it also has a lot more going for it than God’s Not Dead does.

First off – The film is based on a Biblical event that many people, including non-believers, know of. This instantly gets, not only believers interested, but non-believers, as well. Something else Noah has going for it is a larger budget, which means getting a great director, well-known actors, and telling the story of Noah’s Ark with incredible visuals and scale. Regardless of whether the actors are Christians or not, it’s all about convincing the audience that the characters and story they are part of could be real, and Noah, for me, did just that. And I’m sure it did it for many others, including non-believers.

Second – The film is in places Biblically inaccurate, but the overall true story of Noah from the Bible does exist in the film. The film managed to keep the ultimate themes of justice, mercy, forgiveness, and love of the original story from the Bible amidst the inaccuracies and still managed to entertain audiences of all kinds! Well, most Christians didn’t enjoy it very much, and I understand why. I, however, was able to look past the Biblical inaccuracies and pull out some deep, thought-provoking stuff from the film. One of which was driven by the dark portrayal of Noah in the last half of the film. Specifically when he thinks that maybe God’s ultimate plan was to end all human life and start over. He felt like maybe this was God’s plan because he saw the wickedness of those who died in the flood in them, as well. Now, this brings up an interesting point – Noah’s theory is not entirely false. “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” – Romans 3:23. Noah, for that time was known to be righteous; along with his family, but he was still a sinner capable of wickedness. All of us are sinners and are capable of wickedness too. Once I opened my mind to that, I really felt that the film delivered it’s message of us deserving death, but God showed mercy on us and give us a second chance to establish a relationship with Him. Kinda sounds like the purpose of Jesus coming, does it not? I know it will be hard for many to look past the film’s inaccuracies, but I was able to grasp it’s ultimate message, which is true to Scripture, and for me it made me appreciate the film even more.

Third – Now this is where I might get mixed reactions from people, but by looking at both Noah and God’s Not Dead, I can tell you that Noah has a better chance of leading people to Christ than God’s Not Dead does. While it’s big budget and names helps it, it is also an enjoyable film for all and I already know of many non-believers who have researched, after watching Noah, wanting to know if the story is true. Which this may in return, lead people to studying the Scriptures and discovering the Love and Mercy God really does show towards us. I can’t see God’s Not Dead doing the same due to it’s key audience only being those made up of believers.

This is only my opinion. But it’s obvious and the truth to say that Noah has reached more unsaved people than God’s Not Dead has. Now some of you may be saying “But the film doesn’t portray Noah accurately and what if non-believers believe the films version of Noah instead of the Bible’s?”  Well… if you think this portrayal of Noah is false and blasphemest, God even turns what appears to be “evil” in our sight to use for good.

Image

Leave a comment